Stuck at a boring job

Need a job? Hate the idea of a job? Want some ideas for alternative ways of earning a living? This is your forum.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Stuck at a boring job

Postby smlee4 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:55 pm

Hi guys,

I am at my wits' end now. I should sound better than this but I don't have much time somehow. A few weeks ago, I managed to read “Refuse to Choose” and finally realised I am a Scanner, and my hopping traits finally made sense. I thought I can take time to find my own passion and move on to it, but I am somehow troubled and end up feeling trapped. I hope I can find some advice about my next step.

Let me start with some history, which could be really long.

I have a degree in programming. And I have been doing coding for the past 8 years. Sounds impressive, but being a Scanner, only my 2nd and 3rd job lasted slightly more than a year. Within these 8 years, I have worked for 9 different companies where I was salaried. I also tried being a financial adviser for a short 3 months before realising it did not suit me. And for the 9 companies, I stayed between 2 months to 15 months. I'm now working for the 10th company.

I changed jobs at will. I was never dismissed. But due to the short periods in every company, I never managed to progress in my career. Every change was a lateral move.

In the 9th company, a long-time friend realised that I have a medical condition called Asperger's Syndrome, and suggested that I try out testing role. I did give it a shot and realised I did enjoy doing it. I was so thrilled to find this newfound interest/passion that I decided not to continue in the 9th company, and was very determined to follow this passion.