Love your work

Kudos for Barbara's workshops, audio programs, workbook courses, PBS specials and books

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Love your work

Postby Alimour » Sat Jul 01, 2006 5:53 pm

Hello A friend of mine recommended your book; I bought it yesterday and finished it today. I cried on about page 3 because it was like you wrote this book for me.

On Friday I finished trading in my (2nd) cafe, and have been berating myself for giving up a great little business, where I worked school hours with good money, and regular loyal clientele. But I hated it and felt so trapped!

Prior to the cafe I worked (in chronological order) as a Business Analyst, call centre operator, business manager, Language teacher, office administrator, waitress..I have taught English in Prague and Santiago..I have studied 9 languages and speak 2 reasonably fluently..I studied voice for 10 years, and opera for 2 years at a Conservatorium..I am now studying a music adult education course and will start a Diploma of Education this semester, and want to do a Masters in Acoustic Phonetics next year...

And all this time I have been telling myself that I am a failure because I can't stick with one career and have watched other (less intelligent or talented) people do well financially and professionally.

Thanks with all my heart for your book because it has switched a light on that I am not actually a failure, and that all these exciting experiences do actually add up to something meaningful. It has given me encouragement to set up the 2 mail-order businesses I have been thinking about, to help finance the studies and travel that I want to do in the future. Thank you again. :D
Alimour
New User
New User

Re: Love your work

Postby BarbaraSher » Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:02 am