The Telephone Idea Parties

Kudos for Barbara's workshops, audio programs, workbook courses, PBS specials and books

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

The Telephone Idea Parties

Postby BarbaraSher » Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:17 am

Dear Barbara: Hello, friend! Yes, yes, use [my letter on your webcast] (And don't worry about using my name.) I'm so glad you found it helpful. That in itself is another indication to me that I can indeed put my feelings "on paper"--write so that others can perceive that there is hope; there is beauty. Last night's [Tele Idea Party] was so rewarding. I do hope that Kate contacts me. I will tell Deanie Hayes that she's exploring the possibility of starting a youth ranch. I know Deanie will give her any information she can, and I suspect that there's a wealth of information there for Kate to use. Barbara, you just don't know how heartened I am by your words. I've been working for so many years, just for a paycheck, raising my children (alone). Now,I'm still struggling financially,but not as much as before, and I do think I can overcome that by starting my editing and proofreading business--that's fun, and I know I'm darned good (too bad I don't have a degree). But what is even more exciting to consider is that I can, indeed, write. My soul longs to write! I wish I had listened more closely to the lady who wants to write romance novels. I know I took notes, but I haven't yet reviewed them to see if they're adequate. I, too, want to write romance novels--in fact, I started one and thought I was doing well with it. Then, I joined MARA (Mid America RomanceWriters). That's an organization in KC, and from that, somehow, (I'm still shaking my head at this one!)I became involved in a "support" group. We met once a week, always at my house, which meant that I hurried home from work, prepared the treats, etc., etc., and then, along with three others, listed to a fourth person wax poetic about what was wrong, wrong, wrong with my writing! It was so discoura