W: Plant a large garden O: time, money and energy

Each dreamer gets one topic. Ready to move toward your dream? Come in and open a topic in your name so we can note your progress, cheer you on, console you, curse your enemies, take up collections and generally keep track of you and your excellent dream.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

W: Plant a large garden O: time, money and energy

Postby Sandysmith » Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:35 am

I have a large corner lot with a 20 -30 feet by 40 -50 feet space currently covered with dirt and weeds. I would love to convert it to a vegetable and flower garden. I am a painter and would like to journal and paint the plants through the season. I live alone and would like to grow enough vegetables to share with neighbors and family, and either sell or give away the excess. I also would like to teach painting classes in my garden.
Obstacles: the money required for preparing the soil, getting the plants and paying for the water. My water bill last summer was $123 a month without watering that space. I also have a lot of wild rabbits and currently no fence around the area. I live in Colorado and it can be very hot in the summer and I would have to do any work in the garden either early in the morning or evenings. That is also my prime walking and painting time.
Sandysmith
New User
New User

Re: W: Plant a large garden O: time, money and energy

Postby Jaime » Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:27 pm

You could start small and build the garden up over the years, so it's not so much investment all at once.

Or you could look for help. Is there an apartment complex near you, or a university with dorms? Maybe you could put up a flier asking if there are any frustrated gardeners living in places where they can't garden. You could split the veggies with them as payment for their work.