Wish to Earn a Living

Each dreamer gets one topic. Ready to move toward your dream? Come in and open a topic in your name so we can note your progress, cheer you on, console you, curse your enemies, take up collections and generally keep track of you and your excellent dream.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Wish to Earn a Living

Postby freya221b » Sun May 22, 2016 10:18 pm

I wish I could be supporting myself financially doing work that's at least moderately meaningful to me.

My obstacles:

1. I'm broke right now, living on a small monthly stipend given to me by an irritated family member. Because of this, I'm trapped in a city that I dislike.
2. I've been assiduously job-hunting for two years, and I can't get interviews. I have a master's degree, I'm an excellent communicator/writer/editor, I'm smart and dedicated and a fast learner -- but no one seems willing to consider hiring me.
3. My self-esteem is suffering, so it's hard to keep cranking out job applications.

Thanks for reading. If anyone has any thoughts, I'd be glad to hear them.
freya221b
New User
New User

Re: Wish to Earn a Living

Postby Elaine Glimme » Tue May 24, 2016 11:01 am

Hi Freya,

Job hunting is hard!!!! :bash: :bash: What field is your masters in? Do you have anyone to read over your resumes and applications and make suggestions? And do you have anyone to practice interviewing with? What kinds of jobs would you consider "good enough?" If you want to vent frustration, feel free to do it here.

You said you don't like where you're living right now. If you get a job in that city, you'll be living there or close by.