Suggestions for running a self discovery course

A place to share stories about good guys and to get ideas and information about being one yourself.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Suggestions for running a self discovery course

Postby happykat » Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:32 am

I would like to run a course through my local neighborhood centre. I am a licensed yoga instructor, and I am intending that each week of the course would include exercises in breathing/relaxation/meditation, as well as discussion/information/practical tasks on various topics. I intend to include topics such as depression, conflict resolution, and stress/anxiety. I also would like to include something in relation to goal-setting and/or motivation, based on Barbara's ideas. Any thoughts on any of this will be most welcome!
happykat
Experienced Poster
Experienced Poster

Re: Suggestions for running a self discovery course

Postby Tituba » Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:35 am

Take an improvisation class and then teach it to your students. Improv teaches communication, how to play nice with other, self expression and stress relief
Tituba
Mega Poster
Mega Poster

Postby sallypz » Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:12 am

Sounds great. Singing (even if you sound bad) is great for breathing, relaxation, focus, stress relief. I have always thought it would be great exercise for those with lung problems too to sing as part of their breathing exercises. Include some kind of music therapy. sallypz (MoxieMe)
sallypz
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Postby violet » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:46 pm