W: Work with diseased children, O: I'm a student

Tell us your wish, tell us your obstacle, and we'll try to come up with some useful suggestions to help you get into action toward your dream.

Moderators: Tituba, BarbaraSher

W: Work with diseased children, O: I'm a student

Postby climbinggirl » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:57 am

Hello,

I would love to get the chance of working with children who have incurable diseases. That probably sounds a bit strange given that I'm still a student and most of my peers don't even think of anything nearly as specific but I'll explain where this idea comes from.
Already for a couple of years I'm interested in medicine and biochemistry and thinking about working in the medical research later to help find cure or better treatments for certain diseases.
Then, about 10 months ago, my joints started to hurt constantly. Since then it has got and is still getting worse but the doctors are pretty sure not being going to find out what it could be and if they don't, I'll be diagnosed with fibromyalgia which is, a disease we neither know the cause of have nor any cure for except for a handful of treatments that make everyday's life a little less painful.

I hope it's got more or less clear what has led to my wish. I think that there are not enough people caring about people who have diseases and I'd like to do this in my freetime.
I live in Germany, very close to Berlin, I'm almost 17 years old and I'm going to finish school in 2020. That means I haven't got any education in this area (aside from biology lessons and what I've been reading due to my interests) and I haven't really worked with children yet neither without regard to my little sister. ;)

I have no idea how I could get to do this, so I am very open to anything that might come to your mind and would be happy if someone would answer to this post! :) :)
climbinggirl
New User
New User

Re: W: Work with diseased children, O: I'm a student

Postby pattyn » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:15 am