Any ideas on how to make this work?

What should you do when you want to do everything? If you're fascinated by everything, and you've been called dabbler, dilettante, undisciplined, indecisive etc., this forum is for you.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Any ideas on how to make this work?

Postby sweetsoulmusic » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:03 pm

Hello everyone! I've got a bit of an idea predicament. I figured it would be good to ask my question to the group of the most experienced creatively indecisive geniuses! I've been trying to do everything and it's completely exhausting me. I work full-time as an office worker and my job works me really hard every day. I also run a book company part-time, go to college part-time, setting up a record label, write articles for associated content, singing when I can, recording demos, getting into charities, trying to volunteer occassionally, working on a book, trying to get through my reading list, blah blah blah... Needless to say, I try to do everything... But when it comes to work, I find myself very underpaid and very exhausted from giving it all my energy, and having to pull from my reserves for my passions when I get home. I want a job that actually means something to me, where I have a drive to continue it. I have other plans and long-term goals for my life, and just in case it takes longer than I expect... I would like to have a good paying job I enjoy during that time. Which I need school to get to. What kinds of things can one do without having to work in corporate america? I don't want to teach. I don't like children. The only kinds of kids I can get along with are usually the extremely intelligent Gifted kids... they are really adults. I thought about a librarian but you need a master's degree to make only $40,000 a year. I've considered non-profits but I don't want to be doing things from behind a desk. I would want to actually be in the countries deliverying things to people. I want a cause I believe in to work for... I