Designing again: after a 25 year break!

Success means taking real steps in the direction of your dream. Talk about them here. You deserve to be commended, hailed, supported, admired, copied and shamelessly promoted.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Designing again: after a 25 year break!

Postby inspiresuccess » Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:14 pm

Yes! I'm designing again!

I used to be a freelance knitwear designer for a short time in the 90s. I designed patterns for craft magazines, books, and leaflets. I created the sample, which was photographed by the magazine. Plus, I wrote the instructions for people to follow, in order to make the items.

I've been trying to get the photographs of the designs online, when someone Googles my name, but no success yet. I'll keep working on it.

I'm only doing baby aghans this time, but back then I did mens' and womens' sweaters, hat/scarf sets, baby afghans, and Christmas stockings. I worked in knit and crochet, but this time I only want to knit. If after they're published and enough people request it, I'll crochet, but I don't want to. I only did it because the editors and magazine readers wanted it.

Here's what a project looks like:

1. Come up with themes (fun)

2. Sketch ideas (fun)

3. Create swatches (sometimes fun). "Swatches" are small, knit, four-inch squares to test whether the sketch actually translates into a knit piece. Most times they don't. That means multiple tests to find one that actually works. It's time-consuming. The verb is "swatching", as in "I'm currently swatching". Actually I'm not, but it sounds good to say it!

4. Math (not fun at all!) Knitting has a certain number of stitches across and down, and certain repetitions as well. I tried to find someone to pay to do this, but no luck last time, so I had to do it myself. I'll try doing it myself this time. Magazines have tight deadlines, which are a nightmare, but this time I don't have deadlines.