Baby steps, gaining ground

Success means taking real steps in the direction of your dream. Talk about them here. You deserve to be commended, hailed, supported, admired, copied and shamelessly promoted.

Moderators: Tituba, BarbaraSher

Baby steps, gaining ground

Postby DebraG » Mon Jun 19, 2000 9:27 am

Hi all.... JC has encouraged me to post something here about this, so here I am. Recently I took a long, hard look at myself and found that, even though I knew I was on the path I was supposed to be on, I still hadn't gained any ground as to my life's work. It almost seemed as though needlework (I'm a needle artist) kept coming up and I would pooh-pooh the idea, saying "you can't make any money doing that...". But yet the ideas wouldn't go away. So during this long-hard look at myself, I decided to just entertain the notion of doing something with needlework. BAM! The ideas came faster than I could react to them (with oodles of help from the wonderful people on this board, I might add). In the last couple weeks: I've got 2 needlework shops wanting me to teach for them. I've done beginning research on how to get a domain name, and also checked out some info on webhosting... this will enable me to get my presence out on the web, to show my work, put my services for stitching exquisite works for those who might be interested in purchasing a piece, and at some point, offering teaching via the web. I've begun designing some of my own work. I've also put it out there that I would like to travel with this ideal job; be one of those designers who travel to festivals and seminars and speak and teach their techniques. In all this flurry of activity, I think the biggest thing for me is the realization that hey, maybe I could make a living at this! I'm certainly not there yet, but I *am* taking the steps, and for this one, who was frozen in the mud of her own footsteps on her path, this is monumental for me. And I wonder what that Woman's Day article is going to do for this v