Becoming a freelance copywriter...any suggestions?

Tell us your wish, tell us your obstacle, and we'll try to come up with some useful suggestions to help you get into action toward your dream.

Moderators: BarbaraSher, Tituba

Becoming a freelance copywriter...any suggestions?

Postby Scorpio Moon » Mon Nov 24, 2003 1:11 am

Last week, I got the idea to pursue freelance copywriting. I have an English degree and I have worked as a freelance journalist for years. I know I could do copywriting. I came here and did a search, read the previous threads in which copywriting was discussed, ordered the books "The Well-Fed Writer", "The Copywriter's Handbook", "Start and Run a Copywriting Business" and "Sell Yourself Without Selling Your Soul...". While I'm waiting for these books to arrive, I've been scouring the Web trying to get ideas on how to get this business going. I don't feel I need to take a copywriting course. I want to dive right in. At the moment, I'm unsure about a few things: I could do copywriting for free to get some experience, some material for my portfolio and a few references. But at the moment, I'd like to start seeking out paying clients. If I do this, can I get away with creating "sample" copy to put in a portfolio? Is it absolutely necessary I only include copy I have written for someone else? Since I'm just starting out, would it be beneficial to find a niche market and focus on it? Being the scanner that I am, I know I could write copy pertaining to a multitude of industries. Ideally, I don't want to focus on one. But in the beginning should I pick, and pursue, just one? And the big question: How do I find clients? I'm hoping the copywriting-related books I ordered will give me some ideas on how to go about doing this. But while I'm waiting for them to arrive, I'd like to start doing research. I've never been in a position where I have offered my services to a company. At this point, I am completely clueless on how to go about doing so. I'm guessi